

Reminder for Providers Regarding Patient Privacy

October 26, 2022

Under California law, (Cal. Family Code § 6925, 6926), minors aged 12 and over may access services without parental consent for medical care related to the prevention or treatment of pregnancy and the prevention or treatment of sexually transmitted diseases.

This alert is a reminder for providers and prescribers, including pharmacists, to maintain strict patient privacy. Personal health information should never be provided to anyone who is not the patient, even if it is the patient's legal guardian or representative without the minor's (age 12 and above) written consent. This patient privacy requirement applies to all providers associated with Medi-Cal, including doctors, nurses, clinicians, and pharmacists.

For additional information about minor consent and confidentiality laws, refer to the <u>California Minor Consent and Confidentiality Laws</u>. For any questions, review the Medi-Cal Provider Manual section relevant to your programs as well as the Medi-Cal <u>Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) web page</u> for HIPAA requirements and additional information.

Contact Information

You can call the Medi-Cal Rx Customer Service Center (CSC) at 1-800-977-2273, which is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days per year.

For other questions, email Medi-Cal Rx Education & Outreach at MediCalRxEducationOutreach@magellanhealth.com